runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Starting Over

on July 21, 2014

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged, so I figured on this Monday morning while having coffee and watching the Today Show I would write as well.

As many of you know via my Runnergal22 Facebook page, I have registered for another marathon. Saying ‘another marathon’ has a couple of meanings to me. First, I’ve only completed one marathon, so hopefully this will be my second completed. Secondly, I have actually registered for four marathons. As I said, I completed the first marathon in June of 2011, the Minneapolis Marathon. I registered for my second which was the Women Rock Marathon, but I hurt my hip and the doctor said NO. So I cut back and did the half that year. The third was this past June 2014 the Minneapolis Marathon again. However, it was cancelled due to severe weather…lightning and flash flooding. Which leaves me to the present. I have registered for the IMT Des Moines Marathon on October 19th and I couldn’t be more excited.

I am excited for many reasons. Of course, I want to run. After not being able to run the Minneapolis Marathon, I have to admit, there was a void. After all the training and not being able to actually run it the desire to run has intensified. And again, I completely agree with and understand the decision to cancel due to severe weather. But it just makes me want to get back out there.

I am originally from Iowa, so this marathon is in the capital city, Des Moines. After looking at the course map, I noticed we will be running through the campus of Drake University. My sister Jackie attended Drake, so that will be neat. My best friend Trish and her family live in Des Moines so my hubby and I will stay with them. It’s always fun to be with them and we don’t get to see each other very often.

des moines

Currently, I am in week 6 of training. I wouldn’t have had to start all over after completing the training for the Minneapolis Marathon, but I did. We took a trip to Florida and while I did run one day down there, a pair of dress shoes that I had to wear cut into my feet so badly that I could not wear regular shoes for about two weeks. It was awful. It was then that I decided to just start over.

So here I am again, marathon training and looking ahead for some fun times. My main goal this week is to NOT have a Dairy Queen Blizzard. I don’t think I’ve had so many blizzards in my whole life as I’ve had this summer. I honestly will feel like it’s a big accomplishment if I don’t have one this week.

Thank you for tuning in and until next time, have a great week and take care!

3 responses to “Starting Over

  1. I told myself NO refined sugar during marathon training….I’ve already had three servings of ice cream… I like your goal to just make it a week without one!!!

Leave a Reply

