runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

3845

on April 14, 2014

Odd title?  Maybe.  But those are important numbers to me.  

It’s my bib number for the Minneapolis Marathon on June 1, 2014.  

I am starting week 12 of training and I have a lot of thoughts racing through my head.  Reflecting back on the past 11 weeks, I am not that happy with my training.  I haven’t been keeping my weekly mileage up where it really should be.  I’ve been close enough I guess, but not really where I would want to be.  Which then begs the question, why isn’t my weekly mileage where it should be at this point?  

It’s my own fault.  It’s been tough for me to get the miles in, for one reason and another, and another, and another.  There are days where it’s very difficult for me to get in all the mileage between family, teaching, coaching.  Sound like excuses?  To some it sure does and sometimes it does to me as well.  I’m not making excuses, it’s the reality of my life.

Then I ask myself, ‘Why did I sign up for a June marathon knowing full well what my spring schedule is like?  I’ve done this before and had the same issues!’  Well, the answer to that is I wanted to run another marathon, and June 1st is the only one right now that fits into my schedule.  

It’s very tough right now, especially mentally, and that is having an effect on my running.  I’m not running very well.  Outside stress is taking a toll on my running.  All those posters on Facebook about running being a stress relief, I have to go run off my day, running is cheaper than therapy, etc., (you know the ones) are not ringing true for me right now.  Running isn’t relieving my stress.  Running isn’t taking my mind off of things.  Running isn’t therapy right now.  Running right now doesn’t feel good.  

Which leads me to my next point, will I be ready for June 1st?  Mentally, physically?  If I am not at the weekly mileage, if my running isn’t going very well and hasn’t been, then am I going to be ready??

I don’t know if I’ll be ready.  All I can do at this point is to keep working….keep trying to maintain focus on what’s right ahead of me.  I have to really try to allow running to help me let go of the outside stress and maybe that will help the actual running part. 

Until I check in again, I hope you all have a great week.

2 responses to “3845

  1. sweatsisters says:

    You rock Jess! Take the pressure off yourself and enjoy the journey! I’m jealous for you to experience another marathon and am cheering you on! You know God will equip you for all He calls you to in His strength….and it’s so ok to walk:)) Don’t let satan plant doubts in that lion heart of yours:))

    • runnergal22 says:

      Thank you….I really appreciate it. I know I need to take a deep breath and just keep going….and I will. It felt good to write it out! I can’t tell you how much this message means to me. Thanks so much for your support!

Leave a Reply

