runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Checking In

on March 24, 2014

Hello friends!  

Now that I am back in marathon training, I am going to try and blog more often.  And I did say try.  I dug out my Hal Hidgon book MARATHON and started reading again.  The very first time I read it, I did a lot of highlighting and I was browsing the worn pages and all the markings I made.  Many things jumped out at me of the things that I highlighted, but one in particular.  He mentions getting your goals down on paper and even suggests starting a blog.  Well, I already had my blog the first time I read the book, but when he said that even hurling your words out into cyberspace regardless if anybody actually reads it is very important to helping yourself reach your goals.  I started thinking that I need to write at the end of every week and reflect on how it went…to help myself plan for the next week and make necessary adjustments.  So let’s begin the first update!

Last week was a tough week for me.  I was coming off a great race, the Get Lucky Half and I was extremely sore.  It took DAYS before my legs felt better.  Not only that, I was super tired overall.  We had a very busy week in our jobs (hubby and I teach together) and we also coach after school.  My training HAS to be done in the mornings most weeks during this time of year and I just could hardly pull myself out of bed from the tiredness and the soreness.  I fell very short on my mileage ending up with only 24 miles for the week and I should have had around 31-35 miles.  I did get in my long run of 14 miles, so I was happy about that.  

I am disappointed in my mid week training.  I felt very torn between feeling so exhausted and sore, to feeling guilty about missing runs and workouts.  I really, really, dislike that poster that says something about NO EXCUSES and I have posted it before.  In fact, I have blogged about no excuses in the past.  But I have come to dislike it because I think it very much depends on the actual reason why a person misses a run/workout to determine whether or not that person is making excuses or is there a valid reason.  For me last week, I didn’t miss my midweek runs because I simply didn’t want to go, I felt like I needed to listen to my body on those two runs.  I pounded out a seven mile run on Tuesday of last week and it was painful.  I got in my three mile run on Wednesday and I was still exhausted.  Instead of taking the usual ONE rest day, I took THREE.  I felt my body and mind needed it.  Then of course, in typical fashion, I felt the guilt.  One thing Hal Hidgon also says is that you should never go two days without running as two or three days without running equals lost conditioning.  And then later in his book he discusses recognizing when you need a little break. I struggled between my decision to rest for three days and his words.  

Ultimately, I have to decide for myself what is right for me and I felt like taking the three days was the right decision.  My 14 miler on Sunday went well and so that’s how I know the break was good.  All in all, I was disappointed with the week, however I have to remember that some weeks are going to be little setbacks, especially with the type of schedule I have with family, work, and coaching.  I knew that going in when I decided to register for the June 1st marathon….I’ve done this schedule in 2011…same race…same schedule.  I know it can be done.

Now for this week and what it brings.  As far as work, it’s going to be a normal week, which means nothing much after softball practice.  I have to get my mileage back up to where it needs to be and that is my main focus/goal for the week.  I am adding another component to my training starting this week, but I will get into that after the week is done.  Here is what my training week looks like, minus the new component:

Monday-cross training; Tuesday-8 miles; Wednesday-5 miles; Thursday-7 miles; Friday-REST; Saturday-3 or 4 miles; Sunday-11 miles.  That will give me a total of 34-35 miles.

So here begins the week!  I hope it’s great for all of you!  I will check back in next Sunday evening!

 

Leave a Reply

