runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

The Good, the Bad, and the Exciting

on March 29, 2013

Hello everybody!  I hope that you all have been well since my last blog entry!  Lots to talk about today so I’ll get started.  I will tie the title together, but bear with me while I do!

The Good:  I am able to go out and run a half marathon with nearly ZERO training.  I haven’t been running a lot during the week and I could go out today and tackle 13.1 miles.  It wouldn’t be a fast 13.1, but I would get it done running the whole way.  I never dreamed that I would ever be at this point.  But there is truth to the whole “muscle memory” thing.  If I cared about my time during these runs, then I would be disappointed.  But since I don’t care, not a big deal.  The more important thing to me is the fact that with pretty much little to no specific training for a half marathon, I can go run the distance whenever I want.  That feels really good to me.

The Bad:  And here’s the flipside to that….it’s very easy for me to make excuses.  How many times I have said this when needing to go for a run, “Oh, I can go out and run a half if I wanted to, I don’t need to get out and run”.  BAD.  Knowing that I can get out and do that has really put a damper on my motivation, my commitment, my dedication.  In a way.  Yes, I am still committed to running, exercise, and doing my best.  However not really in a way that maybe I want to be.  And yes, it IS because I know that I don’t have to do much extra or any, for that matter, training to be able to run the half distance.  It’s been a very easy cop-out actually.  That’s the bad thing.  Although, having said all that, I still feel good about the fact that I can do that.  Sort of a catch 22.

The Exciting:  My friend Trish text me last night.  If you’ve followed me at all you know Trish is my best friend since kindergarten and we ran the Get Lucky Half in 2012 together.  It was our first race that we ran together.  I LOVED being with her, but I was disappointed in my personal performance.  Again, knew I could run the distance and so didn’t put in anything extra to get ready.  I felt like I let her down.  Her text last night was simply, “Want to run dam to dam with me?”  I was instantly excited!  I checked our family schedule and text back “Yes!  Would love to!”  Dam to Dam is a race in Des Moines, Iowa.  It starts at a dam in Saylorville, Iowa which is north of Des Moines (Iowa’s capital city) and finishes in the downtown area of Des Moines.  The race was first created in 1980 and is a 20K (12.4 miles) which according to the website, was the most popular distance of that time.  So what am I excited about?  Running with Trish again.  No question.  We don’t see each other often, so whenever our busy schedules can match up, it’s an opportunity to grab in an instant.

 

dam to dam

I know I can run 12.4 miles today.  However I am taking a different approach to this race.  Trish and I both are going to be doing some different things in terms of our training and we’ll see how it goes.  And in the long run, no pun intended, the most important thing is that we’ll be together once again!

trish and me finish

2 responses to “The Good, the Bad, and the Exciting

  1. Kris Wenzel says:

    Hi,

    I currently operate http://www.gorunagain.com, a running blog for adult beginning runners. I recently came across your blog and liked what I saw.
    I see that you also focus on running and have a lot of experience. Next week I’m putting together a blog post about key tips for a beginning runner. Rather, than run through the usual list, about shoes, doctors, and don’t run too fast, I was hoping to get some more unconventional, but truly valuable ideas.

    If you have any tips to share, I would really appreciate it. I’ll be sure they are included in my post, and in return, I’ll be sure to give you and your blog credit for your contribution.

    Thanks in advance!

    Kris Wenzel
    http://www.gorunagain.com.

Leave a Reply

