runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

For Lanny

on January 27, 2013

It’s been quite a week.

It’s Sunday.  Our weather right now is freezing rain, sleet.  There is a sheet of ice on my car and driveway.  I just got done with the 30 Day Shred in case the power goes out later.  I’m glad we are tucked in safe and sound, especially considering that I didn’t think this is how I was going to be spending my Sunday.

I thought I would be getting ready for my father-in-law’s funeral.

Yeah…you read that right.

My father-in-law has had heart trouble for as long as I’ve known him, which is 21 years.  He has had many ups and downs with his heart….mostly downs.  The last 10 years have been the years of the mostly downs.  Many procedures, surgeries, bad news kinds of things and he’s always pulled through.

This time we were given terrible news.

He had an infection in his pacemaker and the leads (wires) of the pacemaker.  We knew that last year, but the doctors weren’t comfortable doing any surgery at that time.  This year, the infection worsened and it was time to act.  However, action in this instance and on my father-in-law is tricky to say the least.  In fact, his team of doctors did not believe he would even survive the surgery.  But it had to be done.

So in he goes on Tuesday the 22nd.  We had said our goodbyes…..don’t even ask how difficult THAT was….and it was a waiting game to see whether or not he made it.  And I am not exaggerating.  We literally did not know if he was going to live through this surgery.

He did make it and is in ICU.  He made it through the toughest part of this and I believe that he will make it through the next two hurdles that he is facing.

We were able to visit him yesterday in the hospital.  He was doing well, considering.  He was very glad to see us and very talkative.  He had his first walk since Tuesday and it was a little tricky, but he did it.  He is craving “good” food and tried very hard for us to get him some ice cream!  He sure is a fighter.

In terms of running and exercising, I’ve been hanging in there, but honestly my mind was not on running this week.  In fact, I hadn’t even kept track of anything I did this week.  And that’s okay.

Even though I love running, my life doesn’t revolve around running.  My mind isn’t on running 24 hours a day.  If you’ve followed me for any length of time, you already know that I truly love to run.  However, there are times when I just can’t think about running.  There are other things and people that need my full attention.  Yes….running relieves my stresses, clears my head, gives me a break from reality.  There’s no question about that.   But last week, I couldn’t even begin to muster up a blog entry.    I had nothing.

Today is a time to re-focus.  Tomorrow brings a new week.  I pray for improvement for my father-in-law.   I just know he is going to pull through this.  After all, we don’t call him the “Stubborn Irishman” for nothing!

It’s just like always….I have to remember to put one foot in front of the other, whether it’s in my day full of worry or if I’m running.

lanny-and-me

 

5 responses to “For Lanny

  1. Prayers for you and your family!

  2. Prayers for you and your family. I know how difficult these times can be. Be strong for your father-in-law and for your husband.

Leave a Reply

