runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Virtual 5K Recap

on January 1, 2013

Happy New Year to everybody!

I did NOT want to run today.  Not because of the cold actually, but because last night was New Years Eve.  We stayed out late.  There was nothing crazy, but we went out for dinner with friends.  There were some other friends who we haven’t seen in a long time that came to the same place and we all ended up talking and listening to music.  It was so nice to just sit and visit with friends!  However, Runnergal loves the beer Stella Artois and let’s just say she was a little dehydrated this morning!   There I am with my glass of Stella!

me stella

Between being dehydrated and tired, I just didn’t want to run.  But I was signed up for a two January 1st virtual 5Ks and so I didn’t want to start out by bagging out on those.    The Resolution Run I would have much rather done in Miami as one of the groups did.  That would have felt a lot better than cold Minnesota!  It took me what seemed like forever to get dressed and I was sweating before I even got out the door!

I started off, still dreading this run, and actually everything felt really great.  I just decided to get over the fact that I didn’t want to be running and just get this done!  Pretty soon, I forgot I was running.  I was feeling very good and I was glad that I pushed myself to get out the door.  The sun was really bright and suddenly it didn’t seem so cold.   I ended up running a GREAT pace. watch time

And I’m really happy that I finished the Resolution Run, the virtual 5K for Run Crazy~Fit For Life, and the 5 By the 5th Series.  One 5K for three different events!  Jessie Powell 5 by the 5th

New Years Resolutions?  Nope.  I don’t do resolutions.   Do I have goals?  Sure I do.  Not only in running, but in my job as well.  But as for New Years Resolutions,  I just try everyday to be the best version of myself as God inteded me to be.  The rest will take care of itself.  To each of you who follow and support me, I wish for you a wonderful 2013! New Years blog

6 responses to “Virtual 5K Recap

  1. Good to see that you got out there and ran today too. If I didnt have a group run planned I may have stayed in bed all day!
    Happy New Year!!

  2. Happy New Year and congrats on your speedy 5k!

  3. Mindy Artze says:

    OOOOhhhh that looks cold! I hope you had a great time! GGS ❤

    • runnergal22 says:

      It wasn’t so bad once I got going, but I must say, when I turned around to come back the wind was much worse and I had to gasp to catch my breath! Thanks for the comment! I love some GGS <3!!!!

Leave a Reply

