runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Just Run

on October 18, 2012

Well!  It’s been a while since my last blog entry.    A lot has been going on so I best get at it!

First, I was sick.  It started out as a runny nose and lots of sneezing.  Then it turned into a sore throat and earaches.  Next came the cough.  People at work kept saying that the doctors’ offices weren’t giving out meds as they said there was a nasty virus going around.  So I didn’t go in and didn’t go in.  Finally, I knew that I wasn’t getting better, so I went in…bronchitis.  Augh.  But I did get some antibiotics and I feel MUCH better.  I feel like a person again!

Lots going on with regard to my work.  I am a music teacher and we had a great group of musicians come to our school for two days to work with our students.  They also gave a community performance on the evening of the second day.  They were AMAZING.  They worked so well with all levels of our students and were truly phenomenal players.  They are the Copper Street Brass Quintet out of Minneapolis, MN.  PLEASE CHECK THEM OUT.  You won’t be disappointed.

Also work related, our band and choir are doing a Haunted House this year as a fundraiser for a trip in 2014.  We have been working hard to get that ready for the Halloween season…actually opening night is TOMORROW!  It’s been fun, but again, a lot of work.

Running?  Well…I actually did a little when I was sick…before I found out I had bronchitis.  It’s odd, I really didn’t cough all that much when I ran when I was sick, which I thought I would pretty much cough up a lung.  Once the antibiotics kicked in and I felt like a person again, I got right back at it.  I had registered for the Cupcake Classic Virtual 5K via Run With Jess.  I knew that I had to get that run in, so after school on Tuesday I decided to get it done.  I only had a certain amount of time to run as I had a piano lesson after school, had to run, shower and get ready for the Copper Street Brass concert.

So I went out and told myself that I wasn’t going to look at my running watch until I was done.  The reason for that is because I really wanted to just enjoy the nice fall day, the leaves, the sunshine and not be so caught up in my watch/numbers.  Everything felt just amazing when I started out.  I couldn’t believe what a nice day it was and I was just so thankful that I was finally feeling better.

I got to the halfway point and did the turnaround to head back home and I felt like it didn’t take me long at all to get to that point.  I dismissed the thought and just kept running.  My mind was going all over the place…thinking of lots of things.  I didn’t have any music with me this time and I loved it.  It was sure one of those runs when I forgot I was running.  Until……

Until I started thinking again about how fast I was going.  It was FOR SURE faster than I had ever run and like I said, up to that point I forgot I was even running.  I was enjoying everything else.  Then I started thinking that if I finished this strong, then I would really have a great time FOR ME.  My heart really started to race, I got butterflies in my stomach.  I forced myself to calm down and just keep steady.  There was a slight hill coming toward the end and I really dug deep to keep my pace what I had been running.  It was all I could do to NOT look at my watch to see where I was regarding my time.  My pace quickened with the excitement that I could have really done a great job…again…for ME.  I wasn’t comparing myself to anybody else, because I don’t follow anybody like that.  But I know where I’m at in 5K times and the thought that I might be improving with some of the biking and other things I’ve been doing was very exciting to me.

I got home…the virtual “finish line” and looked at my watch.  I was SHOCKED, STUNNED, EXCITED.  My virtual 5K finish time was 24:14.  I have NEVER been under 30 minutes before!  I was breathing heavily, started coughing, and jumping up and down!  I called my husband and told him and he was so happy for me, but the best thing he said was…”I’m not surprised honey.  You work hard and when a run feels that good, of course you can get that time!”

It was a great feeling.  Will that ever happen again?  I never thought it would happen at all, so I’m not going to say that I won’t get that time again.  But, I’m not going to focus on doing it again.  If it happens, then it happens. The best part of it for me was that I didn’t set out to be that fast or get that time or break 25 minutes.  I simply went out for a run.  I let my surroundings engulf me and just took everything in.  One big key, I didn’t THINK.  I just RAN.  And as it turned out, I was running a pace I never dreamed I could run and kept it up for an entire 5K.

Sometimes I get very bogged down in the whole…I have to get in “X” miles today….I have to have “X” pace for this or that….it’s over thinking so much of the time.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I’m anything special.  I don’t think I’m some big deal runner now.  I’m a 40 year old gal just getting out and doing the best I can.  All I’m saying is that it sure felt good to have this run go super great.  It reminded me of how much I love running.  It reminded me that no matter how hard it is sometimes, keep hanging in there because you never know when things are going to get easier and it will go great.  And most of all, the best part, which I know this will be my new “motto” or something I will say to myself from now on….don’t think, just run.

One response to “Just Run

  1. Congrats on your super fast 5k!

Leave a Reply

