runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Me~tober

on October 1, 2012

Happy October!!!!

First, a quick review of a product that I started using.  For my 40th birthday, my husband and son got me a new sports device from Motorola called the MOTOACTV.  It’s a fitness device that has a GPS, full color maps, MP3 player, can be used with my Iphone so I can receive text messages and calls, plugs me into challenges and competitions, tracks calories, has a heart rate monitor, and has a database of TONS of fitness activities.  The MP3 also has a memory that if I’m running and I happen to run faster to a certain song, it will take me back to that particular song if I start running slower.  It can be interchanged from a watch, to an armband, to my bike, to a shirt clip.  Very versatile!

I have had running watches before and haven’t liked them because I found myself paying way too much attention to the watch rather than just running.  So far, and I haven’t even begun to figure everything out yet, but I really like this one.  I love how I can put it on my bike and when I’m done biking, I can slide it into the wristband and go for a run.  It tracks both activities.  I can’t wait to get all my songs downloaded into the device.  I also will be trying the cordless ear buds.  No more getting my arms caught up in the chord!!!!!!

So far…thumbs up on the MOTOACTV from Motorola.  But more to come on that the more I get used to all the features.

Next up…October challenges.  Many of the blogs that I read are hosting challenges or the blogger is doing an October challenge.  One in particular I wanted to join, but I was a day late.  I didn’t actually see the challenge until the day AFTER the registration was due.  However, that isn’t stopping me from doing my own thing.  I didn’t do all that great on my SSC in August and September, so I’m going to try harder in October.  I’ve even come up with my own name for my own October challenge.  Ready for this….it’s pretty cheesy….it’s….

  ME~tober

Uh-yeah…real creative…and all about ME…get it?? .I’m naming it that on purpose.  It’s all about YOU too.  Here’s what my thought is:  How often do we NOT think of ourselves?  How often are we putting others first and then find ourselves drained and lacking in energy, stamina, motivation?  I bet you are raising your hand at one or more of these questions knowing that you don’t always put yourself first.  I found myself last week completely drained, tired, and lacking in many areas of my life in terms of fitness and nutrition.  I realized that I hadn’t focused too much on myself.  I didn’t really pay attention to my body and what my body needed.

This was ME last week……..

So for the month of October, I am going to try to focus on ME.  Now, that doesn’t mean that I’m not going to be there for my husband and son, my friends, my students.  I’m not going to neglect my life in those areas or neglect those people.  What I mean is that I’m going to focus more on the ME parts of my life that I tend to push aside when I get busy or stressed.  For example, when I get stressed and busy, I tend to lose track of my calories, eat way more than I should (emotional eating) and I don’t exercise as hard as I would if I feel great.  Those “ME parts” are different for everybody.

Here is a list of the ME things I’m going to focus on for Me~tober:

~POP…yes I’m going to keep trying to cut back on pop at school.

~Weights….I need to add more weights and strength into my exercise routine.  I was doing a great job at this, but I’ve slacked off and it’s time to put that back in.

~Sleep…I have to make sure I’m getting to bed at a decent time in order to get plenty of rest.  No more staying up late watching TV or doing housework on school nights!

~CHOICES….whenever a nutrition temptation faces me, I’m going to try very hard to make the best choice for ME.  If I’m faced with cookies in the lounge and I usually have 2, I’ll try to take 1.  Then maybe the next time I will pass altogether.  Maybe not have 2 helpings at supper no matter how good it is!  Just have 1 serving and maybe that will turn into a smaller 1st serving.  Life is about choices and as far as food goes, there are many times I could be making much better choices.

~BREATHE…yes…breathe.  I don’t often slow down and take a moment to relax and just breathe.  I’m on the go a lot and there are days that I can feel tension in my shoulders and neck.  That’s when I need to stop and just focus on a few relaxation techniques.

 

What might be your Me~tober challenges?

 

If you are going to join me, best of luck to you!  I will keep plugging away and hopefully make this Me~tober great!

3 responses to “Me~tober

  1. Darlena says:

    Love this! Good luck, I’ll be working on a Me-tober of my own 😉

  2. Great idea! I joined a challenge on MyFitnessPal and am SO glad I did. It’s forcing me to work harder at exercising, be accountable and work toward staying within my calorie range each day. So far, I’ve even lost 2 lbs!

  3. runnergal22 says:

    Great job Heather! Look me up on MyFitnessPal. I’m Jessmp22. Are you ready for the Monster Dash? Are you wearing a costume?

Leave a Reply

