runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Another SSC Update~Time Is Getting Close!

on September 12, 2012

Hello friends!  It’s been a couple of weeks since my last blog and I hope that you’ve been doing well.

I want to say something before I continue with this blog entry, and I know that I’ve said it before, but I think it needs to be said again.  I’ve had a lot of conversations, both email and in person, with people about blogs and Facebook statuses.   With a blog, the person can choose whether or not to actually read the blog or not.  They have to physically click on the link to go to the blog.  But with Facebook statuses, we are all subject to those whether we want to read them or not.  If somebody is sick of my blog and is sick of me, that is fine.  I’m not offended by that.  I know and understand that not everybody cares about the same things that I do, but I like to write…I love the outlet.  If somebody chooses not to read my blog, they don’t have to click on the link.  I am going to keep writing and you can decide for yourself if you want to keep reading or not.  Again…it doesn’t hurt my feelings!

Having said all that, my SSC challenges have been going so-so.  I’ve been doing well on some and horrible on others.  Here’s what I’m learning.  The first think I’m learning is that by having these challenges/goals in the back of my mind, it is holding me more accountable than I have been in a long time, so that is good.  The second thing that I’m learning is that I’M HUMAN.  It’s difficult to make changes on bad habits and I think there are people out there who act like they do it all right away…and maybe they do and it’s easy for them.  I’m not one of those people.  I struggle every day with food choices.  Sometimes I struggle the entire day and I make poor food choices the entire day.  So I try harder the next day and sometimes that works and sometimes it doesn’t.  What I have to do is give myself a break and just keep trying.  Sometimes I am so hungry and I have no idea why really.  And there are days in which I make awesome choices and have great food days.

Here is the biggest thing I’m learning about my eating habits and myself.  And this isn’t all the time, but when I make poor choices, this is an example of what happens.  I can be looking at something that I really want to eat, but in my head I know that it would be a poor food choice.  I should walk away, I should have an alternative snack, or some way to re-direct my thinking.  But sometimes, very suddenly, I’m eating said food and it’s almost as though I’m completely out of my body.  I’ve eaten it so fast that it’s gone before my brain has fully registered the choice and hasn’t had time to talk myself out of it…sort of like an out-of-body experience or I was on auto-pilot.  So I’m trying to learn from that and take my time more to think about the better choices.

So here’s my track record so far:

  1.  Keep my daily calorie intake to no more than 200 over.  **I’ve been doing fairly well with this one.  Not all that many days over.
  2. No pop during my day…work day.  **EPIC FAIL.  I’m really struggling with this, BUT, I’m not snacking with the pop so at least I’m 50% on that.  However, I just cleaned off my desk today.  EIGHT empty Diet Pepsi cans.  WOW.
  3. Healthy snacks after work while making supper instead of chips.  **Doing well on that.
  4. Eat more fruit.  **FAILING.  I’ve had some, but not near enough.
  5. Secret challenge.  **EPIC FAIL these past couple of weeks.  Again, this one is a super hard one for me.  I would say that while I’m not doing that well, it sure could be worse.

SO…I only have a couple more weeks of the SSC and we’ll see how it goes.  My weight is down about 5 pounds and my clothes fit better, so that’s a good thing.

The thing I have to keep remembering….I am human and I am not perfect.  But I’m trying to make some positive changes in my nutrition and that’s all I can do is keep plugging away!

And LASTLY…running news….I took a week off of running after the Women Rock Half.  I went out today and had an awesome 3 miles…NO HIP PAIN!  Yay! 

2 responses to “Another SSC Update~Time Is Getting Close!

  1. sweatsisters says:

    Love your SSC!! and love your blog:) still want to help you drop your diet pepsi habit! That was my nemisis as well:)

  2. I’m with you on the food and diet soda issues. But, I’m not giving up my soda or my ice cream…everything else is negotiable.

Leave a Reply

