runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

SSC

on August 3, 2012

What does the title mean?  What is SSC?  I will explain momentarily.

Quick updates:  Biking is going great.  I love getting out there on the trail and other places and getting in miles.  Running has been up and down.  Last week was great.  This week has been good and then bad as well.  I’ve said this before that I don’t understand how my hip pain, soreness, tightness seems to come and go.  One week is super, the next is full of struggles.  

Okay…so getting closer to SSC.  If you have been following my blog for any length of time, then you know a few things about me.  I don’t pretend to know it all, because I don’t.  Not even close.  I share my struggles, my sadness, my frustrations as well as my happiness, my excitement, my triumphs.  That’s what life is all about…not everything goes well and is perfect.  We all have times of struggle.  I think it’s important in MY journey and writing to include it all.  How else am I going to learn from my mistakes and/or struggles?

I have had many emails from people who read my blog that tell me of their own struggles with running.  And in all those emails, those people have thanked me for writing about the tough times, because like me, the know that running and more importantly life, aren’t always perfect.  I feel very happy that there are people out there who find something to relate to in my blog.

One thing that I really struggle with is eating.  And this is not easy to admit, but given the spirit in which I write my blog, it must be said.  I love to eat food.  I love to eat BAD foods.  A couple of years ago, a co-worker came back to school after summer break and she was half her size.  I asked her what she did and she said that she started Weight Watchers just as school was getting out for the summer.  She added that she realized that she still ate the way she did in high school.  And that’s bad? I was thinking.  

Anyway, I don’t use Weight Watchers, but I have been using MyFitnessPal.com for a long time, I think a couple of years now.  It’s a website that allows you to plug in your current weight, goal weight, track your eating (calories in), and your exercise (calories out).  I don’t always log on and count everything every single day, but I’m going to try to make a better effort.  The last two weeks I’ve been religious about logging in.  I don’t have a problem getting in the exercise.  But it does help me really look at what I’m eating, how MUCH I’m eating, and makes me think twice.  Even then I don’t always choose correctly, but I’m making myself more aware.

SSC……here we are.  I decided to give myself a challenge.  For right now, I’m not going to say exactly what the challenge is.  I will reveal it on down the road, but I’m just not ready yet.  Why?  I don’t really know to be honest.  I’m in the middle….I want to say it in my blog because that makes me feel like it’s real and I’ve declared a challenge for myself, but I’m not “there” yet to say exactly what it is.  Maybe some of you think that’s “stupid”…but that’s the way it is.  I will write about it later and fill in all the details.

So SSC means “Secret Self Challenge”.  I’m taking something that is difficult for me, and this is in my diet and eating, and trying to modify and change.  I’ve actually already started it, and I’m not sure of the “ending” date.  It sort of feels like Lent!  As I said, I’m choosing something that will be difficult for me.  And again, I will explain fully in another blog, but for now, this is all you get.

Do you have goals and/or things you maybe want to change but don’t want to really tell anybody about it?  Write it down.  It makes it more real.  That’s the main reason I’m writing about my SSC in my blog.  It’s out there and it gives me an extra push.  Maybe decide the same for yourself….do your own SSC.  If you want to share it with me, you can email me at:  runnergal022@yahoo.com.  I won’t share your story, but maybe it will help you get started by just writing it down.  *There is a zero in front of the 22 in the email address, but not in the blog.*

As far as my running, I will do as I always do, keep putting one foot in front of the other.

 And I’m going to work hard at my SSC.  If you start one, best of luck and let me know how you are doing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

