runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Perspective, Reading, and Mrs. Day

on July 17, 2012

Last week I blogged about my hip progress, and this week, things are the same.  I think getting even a little better, which is great.

After I posted that blog, a woman that I used to team teach Language Arts with commented on my blog.  Mrs. Day is an amazing teacher, woman, friend, mother, grandmother….and everything in between.  We’ve taught together, we’ve laughed together, we’ve cried together, we’ve had a few beers together!  Mrs. Day is kind, incredibly smart, sincere, loving, funny…and she knows me very well.  It’s kind of freaky how well she knows me.

Two things that I have learned through this hip injury and PT are priorities and perspective.  It’s not the end of the flipping world that I can’t run the Women Rock MN Marathon.  It won’t be the end of the world if I have to pull out of the event.  I’m learning things that I haven’t been doing correctly and I’m fixing that.  At one time, I thought that my life revolved around running, and I’ve learned how incredibly wrong that was.  Yes, I love running and yes, running enhances my life.  But it isn’t my whole life and I know that there was a time where I was completely over-the-top in my mind about it.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t still love to run, talk about running, writing about running, but my perspective has changed through my hip injury.

Enter Mrs. Day after she read last week’s blog.  As I said, she knows me freakishly well.  Mrs. Day is also a MASTER at choosing books for people.  And I mean a MASTER.  She recommended a book to me.  An adolescent book.  A running book.  She said when she first read it, she thought of me.  And she knew I would “get it”.  She wouldn’t have even had to say that stuff, just the mere recommendation would get me reading the book.

I found the book and I finished it in two days.  Could have been one day, but my schedule didn’t allow for that.  I was amazed.  I cried, I laughed, I could relate to the main character’s feelings about running.  I did “get it” and I know why Mrs. Day chose after last week’s blog to recommend it to me.

I wasn’t ready before.  I was too self-absorbed.  I did not have the perspective that I have now.   Yes, I still want to run and I still have goals for myself, God willing.  But going through this hip injury, my heart has changed.  My emotions have changed.  Mrs. Day could sense that….and she knew that I was ready for this book.  Now that I have read it, I have changed a little more.  I know why she recommended it to me and I am so grateful to her.

So I am recommending it to my readers.  You don’t have to be a runner to read it…you don’t have to be any kind of athlete or big time exerciser to read it and get it.  And some people won’t get it.  That’s just the way it is.

If you read it, I sincerely hope you “see”….and if you get the message in the book, you will get this sentence.

Thank you Mrs. Day….and I love you and since the day I met you, I have seen you.

Here is the book….The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen.

One response to “Perspective, Reading, and Mrs. Day

  1. Deb says:

    Don’t know how I missed this one…and again, you made me cry….

Leave a Reply

