runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Three Things Tuesday

on July 10, 2012

Hello friends!  It’s been a while since I’ve blogged.  Thank you to those of you who have emailed, text, and/or asked about the progress with my hip.  Thing number one: hip update.

I have been going to physical therapy and actually learning a lot about the anatomy of the hip and supporting muscles as well as how the different stretches and strength exercises help the hip and supporting muscles.  It’s all very interesting to me.

The hip pain has been up and down.  One week I had about zero pain.  I have had to adopt a completely new routine when working out.  I have to warm up a different way, stretch for about 10 minutes, THEN RUN, then stretch for a long time after, then ice packs.  That’s my new routine.  As I said, one week of doing this I had no pain at all….the next week…I could hardly take a step it hurt so badly.  Hmmmmmmm….not sure about that.   I have also been running only on the treadmill so that in case it got bad, I could just stop and not have to worry about getting home.  Until today.  I decided I would get out on our local trail since it was so beautiful out and I wanted to see how it would go.  I had 4 miles on the schedule and was nervous about how my hip would feel.  It started out very sore and it hurt, but as I warmed up, it was fine.  It felt great.  I went nice and slow.   I stopped halfway through and stretched.  I’m so happy about how that went!  The basic update:  I have good days and bad days and I’m just trying to get through each day the best I can and BE SMART about it. 

Thing number two:  and I don’t want to sound like I’m a “know-it-all” because I don’t know everything there is to know about running or anything for that matter.  But I am learning through this experience and PT.  I love Maya Angelou and one particular quote of hers is my absolute favorite, “When you know better, you do better.”  That’s where I’m at with stretching.  I never used to stretch, or very little.  I never felt like I had to stretch.  Well guess what, now that I’m going on 30 years old, it has caught up with me.  (Hey…. it works on the elementary students every year!)  FINE! So I’m going on 40 and it’s caught up with me.   As I said earlier, I have a new routine.  And now that I know better, I am doing better.  By doing better, I mean that I have had to change my old ways, be smart about my body, listen to my body, and adapt.  What’s my point?  I want to encourage you to do the same.  I want to encourage everybody to do some sort of stretching in your day.  You don’t have to be a runner do to this or for it to be important to your body and overall health.  Don’t let not  knowing what stretches to do stop you.  There are a plethora of websites out there to give you information and also videos on YouTube.  Simple stretches to start or end your day.  Your muscles, your body, your mind will thank you for it. 

Thing number three:  Women Rock MN update.  As you all know, I am not running the full marathon as I had planned.  I registered in March and was very much looking forward to it, but, that’s not going to happen.  The news that I could run the full marathon didn’t really hit me when the doctor told me.  It actually hit about 2 weeks later.  I cried for 2 days.  But I’m over it now.  There are worse things in the world and in life.  I am hoping to run the half, but I also know that I may be running the 10K depending on how my hip feels over the next few weeks.  I am very okay with either.  And what used to be completely UNTHIKABLE to me, having to not run in the race at all, is okay too.  If it turns out that it’s just not going well by September 1st, I will withdraw, get healed up, and wait until next year.   I mentioned earlier that I have been learning a lot about the anatomy etc of my hip….well I’m learning something else throughout this whole process.  Priorities.  In the scheme of life, when it comes down to it, this race isn’t important.  If I can do it, great.  If I can’t, then I don’t.   What a weight off and mostly….inner peace about the whole situation. I’m not going to give up, but back to Maya Angelou and doing better….I may have to do better at adapting to whatever my situation is at the time and then re-direct myself.  Again….that’s okay.  

Image

4 responses to “Three Things Tuesday

  1. Deb says:

    LOve you, love your attitude. I read a YA book last week that reminded me of you…called The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen. Fabulous and you would get it. Pretty popular among my running girls at school I’ll let you borrow it if you promise to get it back to me by the time school starts!

    • runnergal22 says:

      Thanks so much Deb. Really appreciate all that! I will check on that book at our library. I’ll let you know if I find it. I’m sure I can also find it on the inter-library loan system too. Love you!

  2. Heather says:

    Bummer about not being able to run the Women Rock marathon. But, I decided I wasn’t in the right place physically or mentally to run the full, so I’ve dropped down to the half myself. Because like you, I’ve realized there are more important things that should take priority and there’s always another race. Like you, I’ve also had inner peace about my decision.

    Hope the hip heals soon!

Leave a Reply

