runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Yay!!

on June 22, 2012

Yesterday, Thursday, was my first day of physical therapy.  I was nervous.  I was nervous because I want my hip to heal first and foremost, I want to be able to run the half on Sept. 1st, and I was also nervous because I wanted the physical therapist to be a runner.  I’m sure that sounds terrible, but I felt like if the person is a runner, he or she will understand my love for it and the want to get back going where I was.  The first thing she said to me was…”I’m a runner too, so I completely understand where you are at.”  Yay!!

She talked to me, examined my hip, and showed me my first set of stretches that also double as strengthening exercises.  We worked on those for a while and I go back again on Monday.  She told me that I didn’t have to stop running at this point, but agreed with the doctor that I should for sure cut everything in half.  She also went on to say that if we can get this stretched out and the inflammation down, it is possible to still run the half on Sept. 1st.  Yay!!

So here it is, Friday, and I really wanted to work out.  She also said that I need to do more cross training, which isn’t my favorite thing to do anyway, but I am going to follow directions.  I decided that I would do one circuit on weight machines with cardio in between each machine.  This took me 10 minutes.  I was nice and warmed up, really sweaty, and I decided that I would stop and go through all of the stretches she showed me…nice and slowly.  Everything so far felt good.  Yay!!

I then headed to the treadmill.  I walked for a couple of minutes and then started a slow jog.  I was nervous because those first few steps have been painful lately.  Nothing!  It felt really good at the beginning.  I kept on going, slowly increasing the speed and everything was going great.  I had NO PAIN whatsoever and not even any tightness!  Everything….legs, hip, breathing…everything felt so good.  I ran 2 miles and wanted so much to go further, but I didn’t.  Even though everything was so good and there was NO PAIN, I didn’t want to push too far.  I have to be smart about this, go slowly, and proceed with care.  But, I was so happy that my hip felt as good as it did!  Yay!!

After the run, I went through all the stretches again, slowly.  I went home and iced it, per doctors orders, and it still feels really good.  Yay!!

We’ll see how the rest of the day goes, and I know it’s only ONE DAY, but….this one day is a very good and encouraging day.  I am not naive enough to think that I won’t have bad days, sore days, days with pain etc., but I feel very good about today.  Yay!!

I have loved this runner’s prayer for years, and want to share it here. 

Image

One response to “Yay!!

  1. illinoishawkeye says:

    What a great feeling that must be! Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

