runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Mind and Heart

on June 19, 2012

Well….first of all I would like to thank everybody who sent me messages, comments, texts regarding my hip issue.  I really appreciate your support, words of kindness and encouragement.  Means the world to me.

I didn’t run Saturday or Sunday.  The doctor said that I should feel the effects of the shots within 48 hours after receiving them, and I sure did.  My hip felt all around better just walking around…not much soreness, pain, tightness.  He said that would mean the shots were working on bringing down the inflammation.  Check.

Monday came and so did some pain.  I have no idea why, but judging on where the pain was, I’m guessing that it was the mild arthritis, not the IT band.  The doctor described and showed me where the differences were in pain and what was hurting.  He did say that I could run lightly on Monday, but I chose not to run at all and just rested.

Now it’s today, Tuesday and I really wanted to run lightly because I missed it and because I wanted to see how it was going to feel.  I decided to go on the treadmill because if it was going badly, I would be able to just stop and not have to worry about getting home.  He told me not to stretch before I start, so I started out walking.  I could tell right away that it was sore and it hurt, but not as badly as it hurt last week, which was a good start.

I walked about a half a mile and then decided to jog lightly.  Wow….it hurt.  But again, not as bad as it did last week.  I immediately thought about what I should do…keep going or stop.  I kept going, lightly.  It started to loosen up after a little bit and I felt good about that.  At one mile, I stopped and got off the treadmill and stretched, which felt good.  I got back on and walked a little bit, then jogged lightly until I reached 1.5 miles.  And then I had a decision to make.  I was very sore.  It was hurting…not horrible pain, but enough that I knew that I should stop.  So I did, stretched a lot, and now icing like the doctor told me.

So my thoughts…..lots going through my head.  It didn’t hurt as bad as I thought it would, which is good.  I stopped when I should have and didn’t push through, which is good.  Stopping was the smart thing to do, but not the easiest thing to do.

It’s difficult to be in this position.   I hurt and I am not going to push it, but it’s difficult.  My heart tells me one thing, and my brain tells me another.

If somebody told me they were in a similar situation, I would feel for them, but I would say to take care of the only body they have and be smart.   Don’t push it.  It’s not worth screwing up your body for the rest of your life over one race, event, or whatever the case is.   But it’s hard to tell myself that. Isn’t that always the case?!

Again…..time will tell.   Until next time, everybody take care!

One response to “Mind and Heart

  1. illinoishawkeye says:

    I don’t know why I missed this, but I am so sorry for your injury! Only you know your body, so you will know best what it needs. But please allow yourself time to heal properly – otherwise it’s a vicious cycle of a nagging injury that never fully heals – I don’t want that for you!

Leave a Reply

