runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Where In The World Is Runnergal22?

on June 13, 2012

I don’t know where she is.  She’s somewhere between finishing up a school year, working part time at her summer job, keeping up with family, and training for a marathon.  The latter isn’t going so well.

I have still had trouble with motivation.  I really thought, at the beginning of the whole lack-of-motivation-thing, that it wouldn’t last long.  WRONG.  I have not all that motivated to get out the door.

I can’t say that I’ve had all bad runs.  On the contrary.  I’ve had some great runs.  I’ve had some great cross training workouts.  But neither has really flipped the switch for me where I simply can’t wait to get out the door.

I’m not trying to be Miss Negative.  I’m just being honest.  And realistic.  Just like I’m not the only person who loves running, I’m not the only person who blogs, I’m not the only person who blogs about RUNNING,  I’m not the only person who does races…..I’m not the only person who has struggled with the lack of motivation.

I keep looking back to a year ago when I completed the Minneapolis Marathon and how that training went.  I said this in an earlier blog….it’s a lot easier to train when you have the motivation…when you have that “can’t wait to get out the door” feeling, and when things are going well.  It’s very difficult to train when you could care less whether you run or not.  Trust me….I’ve been in both places.  Last year I wanted to run every day…all day.  Lately…I could care less.

HOWEVER….I am still getting out there.  I sometimes think I’m not working as hard as last year, but then again, sometimes I think I’m working harder simply because it’s harder for me to get out there.  And many times the challenge in life is that point in which we all have to push ourselves to do something that we don’t want to do.

And then…..today happened.

I worked this morning at our local golf course.  I had four miles on the schedule for today, which I had planned to do after work.  I hadn’t decided which “route” I was going to run….our local trail, a gravel road route I take sometimes, or the treadmill.  I was sort of thinking treadmill because I thought it was going to rain, but I opted for the trail.

I have recently gotten a new iPhone and downloaded many things, but two of them are Pandora and this running app.  The running app I really love because it has a GPS, pace tracker etc. and she gives me updates every once in a while.  I downloaded lots of 80s music on Pandora, so I was set to go.  My right hip has been bothering me for the last couple of weeks, but today, it didn’t feel sore at all so I was super happy about that!

I got going and things felt really good….hip felt good, quads felt good, breathing was good.  I was so glad I had opted for the trail.  The smells were wonderful and I was actually glad it was overcast because I knew I wouldn’t get too hot.

I was listening to my 80s cardio mix and the running app lady (I haven’t named her yet) came on for my update.  I had run one mile and my pace was 9:44 per mile.  WHAT?   ME???  I have never run that fast before.  I have never been UNDER a 10 minute mile…not even really that close to a 10 minute mile. EV-ER.  Wow…that felt good.  So I kept on going and knew that I would turn around at the two mile point and head back to make four total.  She came back on at 2 miles and my second mile pace was 9:48….REALLY?  I was still holding that pace?  Yes I was.

I turned around feeling really good about this AND I didn’t feel like I was pushing too hard…that was the best part.  At a little past the 2 mile mark wow….there was a HUGE GUST OF WIND that nearly knocked me over.  From that point until the end, my pace slowed down.  It was so windy and my pace was 10:25 for the 3rd mile and 10:47 for the last mile.  During that last mile, I slowed down and stretched my hip which was still feeling good, but just needed a quick stretch.

My final time….4 miles in 40:47…average pace 10:12.  I can’t say how good that feels.  It’s not something I have ever done before…ESPECIALLY the first two miles at under a 10 minute mile pace.

I was in that rut for a long time.  From March 19th  and today is June 13th, I have pretty much cared less.  That’s a long time to be in a rut.  BUT…I kept getting out there.  Maybe that time of mostly bad runs helped me to improve.  It must have.

So…to those of you who have wondered how I’ve been doing….thank you.  To those of you who want me to post more on my Runnergal22 Facebook page about daily runs and to keep writing my blog more faithfully …thank you and I will.

And to myself…I still vow to keep on getting out the door and keep putting one foot in front of the other.  And for tonight….I’m going to relish in this wonderful run and hopefully has brought me out of a long rut!

One response to “Where In The World Is Runnergal22?

  1. Heather says:

    Congrats on the wonderful run! Like you, I’ve been in a mode of not caring about running…which is perfect considering I’m in marathon training, huh? Hopefully I’ll get a good run that will turn it around for me, too.

Leave a Reply

