runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Fighting Through and Finding Inspiration

on May 24, 2012

I have written that I’m in a bit of a running rut.  I have been lacking motivation to get out and run, but I have been putting in the miles.  They haven’t been pretty, but they are in.  I wish there was some sort of support group for this kind of thing….like “Runners in a Rut” group.  “Hi, I’m Jessie.  I’m in a running rut” is what I would have said.   

Well…lately, it’s been a little better.  I have three reasons why.

#1…Softball.  For those of you who don’t know me, I coach our school’s Junior Varsity or B Squad softball team and am assistant varsity coach.  At practices, I get right out with the girls and play positions, hit, run bases when I’m needed.  In the last couple of weeks, I have been playing outfield, which is new to me.  When I played, I was a pitcher and an infielder when I wasn’t pitching.  There can be A LOT of running in the outfield.  There are three girls in particular on the varsity team that always hit to the outfield and always seem to find the “holes”…which is great during a game.  However, during practice that means I am running….SPRINTING.  I think these bursts of sprints have helped my overall running.  It’s really just like intervals or fartleks, only I haven’t been thinking of it like that until just the other day.  And I realized at practice, I’m a faster sprinter than I have been giving myself credit for.  It was really fun last week when I sprinted for a ball, made an amazing catch, then hollered out “Did you guys SEE THAT?!” and they cheered.  This 39 year old sure liked that.

#2…Unexpected compliment.  I saw a friend from a different town the other day.  We don’t see each other very often at all but we are friends on Facebook.  She complimented me on my blog and says she loves it.  I had no idea that she reads my blog.  I was so touched that she said that.  And what’s even better, she is going to try for her first half marathon next year.  Way to go NK and thank you.  You have no idea how much I appreciated you saying that.

#3…..Cousins.  I have lots of amazing and wonderful cousins that I love and that inspire me.  I text and email with them often. 

Kean had a stroke when he was in his 30s.  He’s made an amazing recover, became a personal trainer, and has completed many running races including a full marathon for stroke and heart charities.  He is a devoted father and husband as well as son and brother.  He helped me through training for my first marathon.  I mentioned to him in an email recently about how I feel behind and lacking motivation for my next marathon and he had such encouraging words for me.  It was so needed and gave me another push.

Maureen, Kean’s sister, is another cousin who emails me quite a bit and gives me encouragement.  She herself is a runner, mother, wife, daughter, and sister. It never fails that she reads my blogs and ALWAYS sends me a wonderful comment or several to help encourage me.  She is so positive and I can’t help but feel good and ready to go after reading her emails.  

My cousin Mike, (Kean and Maureen’s cousin too) is training for an Ironman Triathlon.  An  Ironman is a 2.4 mile swim, a 112 mile bike ride, and then finish with a FULL MARATHON….26.2 MILES.  And Mike is going to do this on June 24th…one month from today!!!!    I am amazed at his dedication and all that goes into his training while being a lawyer, husband, and father, brother and son as well.  Last summer when he, his wife and daughter visited us, he was talking about maybe doing one and he made up his mind to just do it.  I’m so proud of him.  This makes my rut seem so small in comparison and I feel sort of like…”What am I complaining about?!”

Thank you to NK for your kind words, to Kean, Maureen, and Mike for your inspiration, texts, and supportive messages.  .  These are just three of the wonderful people in my life who support me, but these three have just happen to pop up in my world this week. 

And I will again, keep plugging away, one foot in front of the other.

2 responses to “Fighting Through and Finding Inspiration

  1. Linda Dwyer says:

    Hi, I’m Linda Dwyer and I have BEEN in a running rut:)…it won’t last!! You have a true runner’s heart, trust it! I am about to run my third half marathon in 6 weeks. The Sweat Sisters were running last week one day and I looked behind me and saw a string a beautiful ladies…maybe 7 or 8 and I thought…”God uses all things for the good of those who love Him and are called to His purpose!” You, my friend….have a string of runners behind you whether you physically see them or not! Keep rockin on…your groove will follow. Feelings always follow action and belief:) You are a leader!!

  2. Maureen says:

    Jess… thanks for the compliment. I love your blog and you are an inspiration to many!

    Love ya
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

