runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Remember The Past In Order To Move Forward

on April 25, 2012

So my last run was fantastic.  But as I said in my last blog, I am a realist and I do know that I will get into ruts again and that not every run will be as fantastic as others.   What I decided to do is come up with a plan for myself for the next time that I hit a rut and/or feel like I’m not making progress.   I’m going to try only TWO things first.

#1—I am going to write more.  I love writing as much as running and I don’t do it nearly enough FOR ME.  Before blogs were even “invented”, I was keeping journals and writing nearly every single day.  Why would I stop now?!

#2—Focus on the good things that have happened in the past…running-wise…that can maybe help me get my mind out of the negative gutter. 

Here it goes…I’m already doing #1.  So here is #2.

Max…he’s such a hoot!  I was lacing up my shoes to go out for a run.  I guess he didn’t want me to go! Image

 

As much as I felt like I was in a rut, I did complete a half marathon with my best friend Trish.  What a fun weekend and still is an accomplishment!Image

Having my son come and run the last .2 of my first marathon with me.  Awesome.Image

Running my first half marathon in honor of my dad’s battle with cancer.  He reached out and grabbed my hand near the finish.

Image

Doing a 5K with my dad after he recovered from his chemo treatments.  AND..he won his age group!  Image

 

 So….I have A LOT of wonderful running memories.  When the going gets tough, then it’s time to take a look back and remember how lucky I am go be running…but even more importantly…how lucky I am to have these wonderful moments.

One response to “Remember The Past In Order To Move Forward

  1. Maureen says:

    Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

