runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Mental Health Run

on April 25, 2012

As many of you know, I have been struggling with motivation lately, I’ve been in a rut.  In my last blog entry, I tried to figure out what has been wrong.  I decided after I wrote that blog to stop trying to figure it out and just move on.   Getting my feelings out about my rut helped me to move on.  And thank you to those of you who sent me messages of support and understanding.  It does help to know that I’m not alone! 

I finally, (after several weeks of dreading runs and going out anyway), was excited to get out and run today!  My plan had been to get outside on part of the trail around here.  Many people enjoy the trails around here, that’s nothing new.  Whether it’s running, walking, biking…whatever way in which it is used, many people love to get out on our trail.  I’m not expressing anything new there!

I have used the trails for a few years….ever since we moved to this area.  I love the peace, I love the scenery, I love the fresh smells of nature.  Maybe this is why I was excited today.  It sometimes feels like a small get away…sort of an escape from reality.  Wait…that’s what running has always brought to me not matter where I run…except for the past 5 weeks.  

I decided to not bring my mp3 player today and just listen to the quiet.  It was amazing.  I didn’t look at how fast I was going.  It was amazing.  I didn’t look at the time.  It was amazing.  I looked at the nature, the trees, the birds.  It was amazing.

I felt like I could have gone on and on and on.  It felt so good to have the escape.  It felt so good to have the run feel good again.  It felt so good to not think about any mechanics of my form or stride.  It felt good to just plain run.

Am I never going to have struggles, bad runs, or ruts again?  Heck no!  I’m not perfect and I am a realist. Struggles, bad runs, ruts will happen again.  However, I needed this run to clear my head of all the over-thinking of why I was in a rut for 5 weeks.  And it truly did clear my head.  It was without a doubt a mental health run.  I FINALLY feel much more centered, relaxed, and am ready to tackle future runs with a better attitude.  

Image

Leave a Reply

