runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Running and Life; Love and Peace

on February 28, 2012

I haven’t written a blog post in quite some time.  It’s not like I don’t have anything to say, I just haven’t taken the time to sit down and write.  And now, here I am.

So running and life.  I’ve been plugging along in both, and both have had their ups and downs.  But that’s just how it is, in running and in life.  We all have that.

Running: I still haven’t decided on whether or not I’m going to do the marathons….one or even both.  I’m still thinking about it, however, I am training as though I’m going to run the June 3rd marathon.  If I decide not to run the June 3rd marathon, I am going to continue to train as though I’m going to run the October 7th marathon.  If I decide not to do either, that’s okay.  Nothing lost….I’m still running!

I know what my family thinks.  I know what my friends think.  And thank you to those of you who emailed me, commented on the first time I wrote about it.  Your support means so much.

Ultimately, I have to make a decision…well…two decisions.  It’s not urgent, but it probably wouldn’t hurt to get on with it already.    There is definitely a different mental place a person needs to be at when training for a marathon.   At least I am that way.    My runs take on a completely different meaning as does everything that I do as far as exercise, cross training, running….”D” all of the above.  So when making that decision, I have to be ready to mentally go to that place.   To be quite honest…..I just don’t know if I want to go there.

Life:  It’s been a touch stressful lately.  My father-in-law is having some health issues and it’s a worry.  But when those stresses and worries come into my life, I cling to my husband and son, my family, my friends.  I pray for strength for our family and for my father and mother-in-law.  And I know that between all of those people and prayer in my life, strength will come…to all of us.

Bottom line is….that running and my family both give me two things, and oddly enough, it’s a phrase that my father-in-law always signs his emails with:  Love and Peace.    When I’m out doing what I love, running, I think about who I love, and I feel peace in my heart.

 

 

One response to “Running and Life; Love and Peace

  1. Linda Dwyer says:

    I love that you are training “as if”:…:) the sweat sisters wear training bracelets all year long whether we are currently preparing for a race or not, just to remind us that we are ALWAYS in training! It’s a mental thing for sure! I will be praying for you Father in Law! May the God of hope fill you with all peace and joy as you trust Him!

Leave a Reply

