runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

on January 3, 2012

Where do I even start on today’s run?  On tap today was 3.5 miles.  It’s the last day of break and I wanted to sleep in, so I planned that in my day.  I woke up, had my breakfast and coffe with hubby, and went out when I felt like it.  I had three routes to choose from, and I ended up choosing to go back to the golf course. 

This blog is titled, “The Good, The Bad, The Ugly”, and here’s why.  On my ‘Runnergal22’ Facebook page in the ‘About Me’ section, I wrote this, “This is dedicated to running….the good, the bad, the ugly. A place for me to share my goals, my stories and my training ups and downs.”  So here it is about today’s run…the good, the bad, the ugly in that order.

The Good:  Anytime that I’m out running is good.  I think that anytime that a person gets out and does what he or she loves to do, whether it’s running, walking, biking, swimming etc…is a good thing.  The even better thing is that I was FINALLY able to use my YakTraks!  Yesterday, I went and walked the golf course as part of my cross training day.  The streets hadn’t been slippery enough during the weekend for me to use the YakTraks and I noticed on my walk yesterday, that there are several parts on the course that are ice.  I absolutely LOVE my YakTraks!  They are light-weight, I could not feel them on the foot strike, and even better, I didn’t slip at all.   

The Bad:  The wind.  It was AWFUL.  It didn’t seem that windy when I took Max out this morning, but man oh man, it was terrible out there.  I usually run the course in order, holes 1-9 and then in reverse, but today I decided to start out on 9 and go backwards.  Hole 8 was the first I felt that south wind, but there are still quite a few trees to block the wind.  Hole 5 was the worst.  It’s very exposed and there was no escaping that south wind.  As soon as I turned to head down hole 5, the wind took my breath away.  You know that dream where you are running but you aren’t going anywhere?  That’s how I felt.  For every step I took, it felt like I was being pushed 4 steps back.  It was unreal.  Hole 5 alone felt like 3.5 miles.  I’ve always said that I’m a slow runner and proud to be.  But today, I felt slower than I have in MONTHS.  I’m not surprised because it was so hard fighting that wind, but man it was so slow going and so difficult.

The Ugly:  I would have to say two things were just plain ugly….the slow pace that I went and then the sasquatch look.  If any of you have seen the 1967 footage from the two men in California who they claim that the saw “Bigfoot/Sasquatch”.  The video is of Sasquatch walking and he/she/it turns and looks at the camera…know what I’m talking about?  Well….at one point after a horrible battle with the wind, I was taking a quick walk break.  Something caught my eye and I turned to my left to look.  What I saw was my shadow….walking and turning.  I looked just like Sasquatch in that video.  Big, plodding along, heavy looking.  Now, if you saw my picture on my facebook page I know that I was bundled up.  However…it reminded me of the fact that I’ve put back on weight that I had lost last spring, which I’m sure is part of the reason I feel so much slower than usual.  I just shuddered at my shadow.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve put back on weight, but good thing I’ve started counting calories on ‘MyFitnessPal’ again.  I love the show “Finding Bigfoot” on the Animal Planet.  Hubby and I watch it every time we can.  They have this saying when referring to the possibility of seeing Sasquatch on one of their expeditions…”It’s ‘Squatchy’ in these woods!”  Well, I could say today, “It’s ‘Sqatchy’ at the golf course today!”

All in all….I do feel good, even though it was difficult.  If I remember, I keep track of my running on a website called ‘The Daily Mile’ and you can log in how you feel. (I don’t always post daily on there and sometimes it’s weeks. But I do like it, if I remember to log in and keep track.)   I would put a smiley face for today because even though it sounds odd, I did feel good running even though it was so flipping difficult to face that wind.  I’m glad I got out there, I’m glad I got the run in, I didn’t give up.  I do believe that facing the tougher conditions out there will help make me stronger.   I came home, stretched, used my tennis ball on sore muscles (I will NEVER give up using my tennis ball after runs), had my chocolate milk for refuel, and had a warm cup of green tea.   A tough run, but a good run, and hopefully it will pay off!

2 responses to “The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

  1. ryersons says:

    I had a run like that on New Year’s Day – I should’ve gone in the morning but putzed around and went out at dusk. Wind had really picked up but I dressed like Bigfoot, too. It was weird but I got more satisfaction out of that run than I think I would have earlier in the day, even though it got dark. I probably should wear my camping headlight next time but it was sort of fun. We have a 5 mile fun run in Lake Geneva next Saturday that is all about running in whatever conditions Mother Nature chooses that day. This year shouldn’t be too bad; last year I think the wind chill was around 15 degrees. Whee!!! Thanks again for your posts 🙂

  2. Another great blog! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

