runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Get Lucky Training and Excitement

on December 24, 2011

And I’m into official training again.  I’m training first for the Get Lucky Half Marathon.  It’s an Irish themed race, I did this last year, and it’s on Saturday, March 17th in St. Paul.  It was such a fun race and I’m so excited to run it again this year!

As far as the training goes, I’ve created my own plan.  I put together some plans from other people and places and added in some things that I want to try and made my own plan.  We’ll see how that goes!  Part of the training is for some other events as well, but that’s for another blog.

What I most excited about for the Get Lucky…..is Trish.  Where do I start?  Trish and I have been best friends since Kindergarten.  We were pretty much inseparable growing up….we even went to the same college.  In high school, where ever you would see Trish, you would see Jess.  Where ever you’d see Jess, you would see Trish.  Trish and Jess….Jess and Trish.  We would finish each other’s sentences; we were constantly at each other’s houses.  If we weren’t together, we’d be on the phone.  We went everywhere together and did everything together. 

She was the maid of honor in my wedding and I in hers.  We’ve laughed together, we’ve cried together, and everything in between. 

Once in college and then marriage and kids, life took us in different directions.  Phone conversations became scarce, but when we did talk, it was as though no time had passed.  We are always just as talkative and still, we can finish each other’s sentences.  We can still laugh at the goofiest things that maybe our husband’s wouldn’t laugh at or maybe they are rolling their eyes while they are having their own good time. 

The only thing Trish and I haven’t done together….is run.

Trish has run a few half marathons and one full.  When she was doing all her running, I was having my son and wasn’t running.  She would ask me all the time to join her for training and meet up for a half.  At that time, I had no interest in doing that and I always said no.  She was persistent though, and through her persistent asking, I began to run….and also to lose the baby weight.  I found that I liked running, but still couldn’t imagine doing what Trish was doing.  How could she possibly run that long?!  Run that far?!

She kept asking and finally I agreed to run a half marathon with her in April of 2006….SEVERAL years after she had first started asking me.  I was reluctant at first, but once I got into the training, I was so happy that we would have this to share together.  If anybody has really followed my blog writing, you already know that we never ran that half.  I injured my foot, and Trish was knocked-up.  Ha ha…Trish if you are reading this I know you laughed!  She and her husband were expecting their first child, and Trish wasn’t able to run it either.  We still spent that weekend together though!

As the years passed, our roles switched.  I became more involved in running.   The tables turned and I was asking her to run a half with me.  She was the one saying no.  I completely understood.  She was in the beginning of a very busy surgery practice, she and her husband were busy with their beautiful girls….just wasn’t the right time.  She would also say that maybe she was just done running, and again, I completely understood that too.  She had met some awesome goals for herself already.  I wasn’t upset at all that she wasn’t interested in running another half.   I understood because there was a time when I was the one not interested.

 Which brings me to Thanksgiving Day, 2011.  Trish and I were texting our “Happy Thanksgiving” messages back and forth.  At the end of one of her texts she wrote, “I’d be up for doing a half”.  I cannot describe how happy and excited that made me!  My heart was racing and I was excitedly telling Lane how happy that made me!  I immediately text back the information about the Get Lucky.  I ended up calling her and we made plans.  We talked and talked….when would be leave for the Cities…..we talked about celebrating St. Patrick’s Day at the local establishment back in Harmony that night with our husbands.  Later Thanksgiving Day, I picked out matching running skirts and emailed her the link. 

 I’m so excited that after all these years, we can finally run together.  After all these years of our lives and our running motivations not matching up, we are finally at the same place at the same time. Her persistence asking me to run with her all those years ago helped get me started running.  And we’ll finally be doing it together.

I am so blessed to have Trish in my life and to have had her growing up.   She is one of those people in my life that helps complete my heart.  She is a part of me that I cherish so much.  It is sometimes difficult to really put in words how much she means to me.   Maybe the simplest way….is to say that I love her so much.

I don’t care what our finish time is…..I don’t care how much we walk and don’t run…..I don’t care how much we run and don’t walk.  I just care that we will be together.   Trish and Jess.  Jess and Trish.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

