runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Homecoming

on October 20, 2011

And I have a voice back!  What a nasty sinus infection….nasty laryngitis…hopefully I’m done now!  I’m so grateful that I’m better because it’s here comes a big weekend.

It’s University of Iowa Homecoming this Saturday.  Lane and I have not been back to Homecoming…I’m pretty sure since we left Iowa City.  We’ve been back to football games, but not for Homecoming weekend.  We decided to go this year and to do something we’ve never done, march in the Alumni Marching Band!  We take off Friday morning, march in the Homecoming parade downtown Iowa City Friday evening.  Early Saturday morning we head to practice, then the pep rally, march to the stadium, march pre-game, and then kick-off at 11am.  I’m so excited I can hardly stand it!  I’m excited to be going back to the atmosphere at Kinnick Stadium and all the hoopla surrounding a Big 10 game.  I’m excited to see friends we marched with in college.   I’m excited to be going back to the memories, the place, the band that brought Lane and I together in the first place. 

The memories….my sister Jenny was in the Hawkeye Marching Band when I was little.  My parents and I would pick up my grandpa Chet and we would head down early on Saturday mornings to watch her practice.  We would tailgate with her until the pep rally before the game.  My parents had season tickets, and we would head to our seats and watch the game and watch her march.  After the game, we would enjoy the post-game atmosphere for a while before taking her back to her dorm and then make the trek home.  It was such a fun time….for all of us….and treasured time with my parents and my grandpa. 

My parents did the same thing when I was in the band.  They came down, watched my practice, we tailgaited, watched me at the pep rally and game.  My very first year in the Hawkeye Marching Band we went to the Holiday Bowl in San Diego, where I fell in love with a handsome young trumpet player.  The rest is history!

And now, all these years later, we’re going back to march again.  Probably the best part….my dad, whose birthday is Sunday, will be there to watch us march….and so will my son.  My mom is not able to be there as she is still recovering from hip surgery.  Those of you who know me well and know how much this all means to me will know that I probably won’t be able to play a note.  The flood of memories will get me…my sister marching, time with my grandpa and parents, meeting Lane, all that history….. I’ll probably be bawling the whole time.   That will be okay, as long as I stay in step!

I’m not sure I can put into words what this weekend means to me.  How special this will be.   I was thinking of a quote from the movie “Shawshank Redemption” when Morgan Freeman’s character is finally paroled and he is heading  to see his friend Andy.  He says, “I find I am so excited, I can barely sit or hold a thought in my head.”  Yup….that’s how I feel…for so many reasons.

2 responses to “Homecoming

  1. sweatsisters says:

    I’m so excited for you!! Happy 80th to Jack! We will be celebrating Ron’s 80th in Decorah this weekend! Aren’t we blessed to have wonderful Hawkeye Marching Band memories? I did the alumni band the year after I graduated for the parade, but they needed extra trumpets for the half time show so I played several games after I graduated:) I still have my uniform….never quite got it turned back in:) Have a blast and I will be thinking of you all and maybe even watching you on TV!!

  2. Dan Ryerson says:

    Love this post!!! The memories come flooding back sooo easily for me. Your parents being at the pregame shows, the San Diego trip (that could be an entire post itself)! I think you & Lane will be surprised at how familiar it all feels – the faces, the jokes, early morning practice, the march to Kinnick from the Rec Center, the feeling of hitting the field (are you ready for the boom?). Can’t wait to experience it with you guys tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

