runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Pause

on October 9, 2011

My new friend Theresa ran the Chicago Marathon today.  I was following her online throughout the day…watching her progress.  This afternoon I got on the website to look her up and noticed a tragic and sad story.  Someone died during the Chicago Marathon today.

He was 36 years old, a fire fighter from Greensboro, North Carolina.  He collapsed only 500 yards from the finish line.  He was revived, but died an hour and 45 minutes later.  His name has not been released.  I feel so badly for his family. 

Reading that story about the young fire fighter made me reflect and pray for my friends who have lost loved ones, either recently or not so recently.  We still miss those people we’ve lost, even if it has been many years since they’ve passed. 

I am grateful that Theresa successfully completed her marathon.  I pray for that young man’s family.  I pray that we all stop and feel grateful for our loved ones.

Leave a Reply

