runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekend!

on October 8, 2011

I love Saturday mornings.  I love the feeling of not “having” to get up at a certain time or “be” anywhere.  I love having coffee and watching the Today Show and then switching over to ESPN College Gameday. 

On the agenda for this beautiful Satuday is a five mile run, laundry, some cleaning, Hawkeye Football, maybe a nap and more college football!

Looking back on my week, it was a really great week.  I had so much fun teaching  and I came home every day  feeling so blessed to be a teacher.   And to cap off that “warm, fuzzy feeling” (and I truly mean that) of teaching, it was so fun to see our football team play such a hard game and win!  Still undefeated!

I am grateful for my job.  I am grateful for Saturday mornings. 

I am grateful to be watching this exciting football season.  And to add on to this, yes, how awesome it is that we are undefeated.  But more importantly, I think the true sense of happiness and excitement for me lies in knowledge of how hard these boys have worked to get to this point.  This doesn’t just happen overnight.  One of the seniors does work for us in the high school band office every morning.  I teach at the high school two mornings a week.  It never fails….he sits down with me on those mornings and all he wants to talk about is football.  (Hmmm..ME want to talk FOOTBALL?  Okay…if I MUST.  ha ha!)  His excitement is right out there on his sleeve.  We have always talked about a lot of other things too, but right now, it’s all football and I can’t blame him!  It’s wonderful and I feel grateful that he wants to share that excitement with me on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

I am grateful that my job allows me to teach K-12 grade students because I get to see it all and appreciate the differences in the ages/levels.  On Friday, the elementary P.E. teacher had the students outside.  For Kindergarten, she had them coloring with sidewalk chalk.  I went outside to see how it was going.  One little girl sat down my me in the shade and she and I were talking.  She had a rock and a pink piece of chalk.  She had an idea.  She would hold the rock and I could color it pink.  She knows my favorite color is pink and she chose that color on purpose.  How sweet right there.  I told her I that was a great idea so I started coloring the rock.   It was a little difficult to take that huge piece of chalk and try to color a rough, small rock…but that wasn’t the point.  Neither of us were saying anything…was a nice few moments.  She broke the silence and said in her sweet, soft, little voice,  “Wow, you can really stay in the lines!”  And right then it was time for them to go in. She gave me a hug and ran to the line.  She came back and wanted to take the pink rock home with her.  I handed it to her and she put it in her pocket with a big smile.  I’m guessing the chalk probably rubbed off in her pocket, but again, that wasn’t the point. 

How blessed am I?!  Two students….one who is beside himself with excitement about his senior football season, and one who was excited that together, we colored a rock pink.   Excitement….it’s all in the eye of the beholder.

I never knew that I was such a good rock colorer…and didn’t really know there were lines on a rock.  That little compliment still makes my heart smile.

2 responses to “Weekend!

  1. Deb Day says:

    Love this–you truly have so much to be grateful for! That joy you have for life is coming through in every word!

Leave a Reply

