runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Planning

on October 6, 2011

I have my races planned out for 2012.  I hate even calling them “races” because I don’t “race”.  I know people do…I was in cross country and I’ve participated in many “races” over the years and there are people there to “race”, but I don’t care if I’m first place or last place.  I care that I’m out there.  Anyway, our family schedule, school schedule permitting, I know what events I’ll be doing.  Hopefully they’ll work out and maybe more races than what I have planned.  That would be great.

I am excited about the Twin Cities Marathon next October.    I know I’m probably crazy, especially after going back and reading my past blogs about the rigors of marathon training.  But I know what to expect and I’m ready to do it again.  I think one of the events I’m most excited about is….the Warrior Dash!   I was asked to do one with a group this September and my schedule didn’t fit with the event day, so I couldn’t go.   I hope our schedules fit for the next one because I can hardly wait!  And I am excited about all of them, but those are the two that I’m MOST excited about.

Today……….I am grateful for my husband and son……my friend who gave me a ride tonight……my friends who had my son and me over for a visit…….a family friend from my childhood who last week gave me the best homegrown tomatoes I’ve ever eaten.  I’m even grateful for this THIRD COLD in four and a half weeks because it reminds me of how blessed I am to be healthy.  And on this October 5, 2011, I am grateful for the life of Steve Jobs.  What an amazing contribution he made to mankind as a pioneer in technology.  May he rest in peace.

 

 

3 responses to “Planning

  1. Linda Dwyer says:

    HURRAY! Maybe someday I will come join you for the Twin City marathon or another one:) We are runners! “Start by doing what is necessary, then what is possible and suddenly you are doing the impossible.” St Francis of Assisi 🙂 I’m two weeks from the KC Half Marathon and 6 weeks from the Gobbler Grind Marathon….I’m 48 and couldn’t run HS track because I didn’t pass the physical! God is good! Rock on my Runnergal friend!

  2. Deb Day says:

    Good for you Jess—not only for planning your races, but for listing what you are grateful for—in the midst of our crazy lives, it’s good to remind ourselves that there are good things and people in our lives! Love you

  3. Sara Ryerson says:

    I love your writing! Thanks for taking the time to share it. I just wanted to share a snippet of Steve Jobs’ life, since you mentioned him. A childhood friend in California is married to a man who worked with Steve Jobs. When their (now 11 or 12 year old) daughter was born with a heart defect, Mr. Jobs went out of his way to make sure they were connected with the most capable people to perform her surgery. It sounds like he was a good guy to them. This, and his too-early death despite the best medical care in the world, is a good reminder that we are never guaranteed a life. You are a wonderful example of using yours to the fullest! (Oh, and by the way: made the decision to bring boys to Homecoming game. Elaine may join us, which would be great).

Leave a Reply

