runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

The Next Chapters

on October 5, 2011

I haven’t been writing much since completing my marathon.  I took a much needed break from running.  Over the summer I got back into it, but without a plan, just running when I want to and it’s been nice.  I felt a great relief in not feeling the pressure of HAVING to run, but yet there was a part of me that did miss it, as insane as that may seem.   I’ve also missed writing…blogging.  It’s really a great outlet for me, just as much as running is. 

So here are my next chapters…yes…plural.  “Chapter One”…This past July, I made the decision to run another marathon.  It will be the Twin Cities Marathon in October 2012.  That story I am saving for its own blog because that story deserves to be told with the blog completely devoted to that, but my journey to prepare for marathon #2 has started…slowly.  And again, that will be in blogs to come.

 “Chapter Two” is that my blogs are going to be a combination of a few things in addition to running.  I remember several episodes of Oprah in which she talked about how her life changed when she started a gratitude journal.   I want to incorporate  gratitude, things I learn each day, where can I improve on my attitude in my blogs.  I hope I can do that.  Some entries to my blog may not be organized in a neat piece of writing.  Some entries might just simply be lists.

Tonight I will start.   I am grateful to God, because no matter what worry I have in my life, He always has His loving arms around me.  I am grateful that my dad’s scan came back clean.  I am grateful that my mom was able to have her hip replaced and that she is working so hard on walking and healing.  I am grateful to my sister for being there to help them right now.  I am grateful for my husband who understands when I need to be with my parents and holds me when I need to cry.  I am grateful to my son, who knew I had a long, worry-filled day waiting with my dad for his scan results, and bought me a piece of strawberry cheesecake just because he thought I would like it.  I am grateful for my friends who checked in with me and asked me how I was doing.  I am grateful for a long phone conversation with a friend whom I hadn’t talked to in a while.  

One of my favorite quotes, “If the only prayer you ever say in your entire life is ‘thank you’, it will be enough.”

One response to “The Next Chapters

  1. Sarah Holten says:

    Nice to see you back blogging! I enjoyed reading your posts before and can’t wait to hear what your next “chapters” include!!

Leave a Reply

