runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Easter Reflections and Looking Ahead

on April 25, 2011

We had a wonderful Easter break.  I was able to do everything I wanted to do…..spent quality time with hubby and son, got in my 18 miles, slept in, did some housework, spent time with my parents, saw friends from high school and hometown, spent time with friends in Harmony.  Now it’s back to reality.

I look on the marathon event website daily to see if there is anything new, and this morning, they had on the countdown until the marathon.  40 days…..that’s the same length as LENT.  Lent went fast this year, and I imagine that these next 40 days will fly by too.  I have a lot going on in the next 40 days…I coach softball and sometimes we have 4 games a week, my son is in baseball, my husband coaches golf, plus wrapping up the school year, a couple more music performances…the list goes on and on. 

As far as training in the next 40 days, the long runs get really intense.  And I mean REALLY intense.  It’s not just going to be intense physically, but also fitting them into my schedule.  These next 40 days are really going to challenge me more than ever mentally and physically.   And I know myself…I know I will get to the marathon day and wonder if I’m ready, wonder if I’ve done enough, wonder if I can finish.  I’m already thinking that.

At many points in this journey I’ve had to re-focus and here is another one of those points.  In these last 40 days I have to again re-focus and and just keep on pushing no matter what.    I want to thank everybody who has sent me messages and comments of support.  You have no idea how much that means to me and I’m sure that support will help carry me through…it does already!   I have to use my motto (I have a few that I say to myself) more than ever…one foot in front of the other.

Leave a Reply

