runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

A Different Kind of Marathon…….

on April 12, 2011

I’m sitting here at my laptop with a heavy, heavy heart.  For those of you reading that do not live in Harmony, we have some very dear friends, Mr. and Mrs. Smith (for the sake of the blog) who are hurting tonight.  Mrs.  Smith lost her mother last Monday, and Mr. Smith lost his mother….today. 

Within the last few months, I have had other friends who lost family members.  One friend lost her brother and her sister within a few short months.  Another friend lost her nephew too young.  So much heartache…so many questions why. Why in one week must a wonderful couple each lose mothers?  Why within a few short months must my friend lose siblings?  Why must a young man be taken?  

I know we can’t answer those questions, but it doesn’t stop us from asking and feeling helpless and saddened.  We send our prayers and our love to our friends, but we all still want to do more.  It sometimes doesn’t feel like it will ever stop…the saddness.

It makes me stop.  It makes me check my priorities.  It makes me realize that all of us are in a marathon….it’s called life…and sometimes getting though rough spots takes stamina, endurance, mental and physical strength.  Sometimes we feel like we can’t take much more, but we have to push through, we have to keep going.

It makes me rmember that what really matters…..family and friends.  I think too often, our families and friends get lost in the shuffle of stress, of everyday life.  I know I’m guilty of that; I’m sure we all are.  I know that I’m pausing tonight and treasuring my family and friends. 

We will all go back to our lives, because as we all know, life goes on no matter how difficult that might be.  But tonight, I say a prayer for my friends.  Tonight, I thank all my family and friends for being a wonderful part of my life and say how much I love you all.  Tonight, I hope any of you who read this blog will go hug your families and friends and treasure the specialness of each and every one of them.  I hope you will tell them just how much you love them and how much they mean to you.   We just never know what tomorrow will bring.

2 responses to “A Different Kind of Marathon…….

  1. Maureen says:

    Jessie loved this post! Love to you and your family!

  2. Deb Day says:

    So sorry to hear this–and how are things in your family??

Leave a Reply

