runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

Augh…Monday

on April 5, 2011

I am not really a fan of Mondays….well….that was a huge understatement.  I really cannot STAND Mondays.  Today on the schedule is a cross training day.  I ususally do some sort of other cardio and weights.  It’s either circuit training or my Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD.  Today was Jillian.  She always delivers a tough workout!

I am reminded on Mondays and Fridays (Fridays being total rest day to gear up for the long weekend run) how much I really do love that change.  I’ve read many articles written by hard-core runners and Elites how much of a challenge a rest day is for them.  I’m not that way.  I look forward to rest days; not because I’m lazy, but because they rejuvenate me…my body and mind.  I think too often, people new to running overlook rest days.   I sure did.  In 2006, my friend Trish talked me into doing a half with her in St. Cloud.  She gave me the training program and I was off.  I did not believe that I was running enough and thought that I would have to up the mileage on all my runs…going AGAINST the training plan.  Of course I knew more that this running expert who put together these plans and who is a world class runner.  Yes…this running newbie was way smarter than he.  Well…I did not rest on the days I was supposed to and to add insult to injury (no pun intended) I decided that I would add on one or two extra miles on each day.  Sure enough, I ended up with a foot injury (overuse injury) and couldn’t run the half.  I was heartbroken and devastated.  What a lesson.  It sure taught me how important those rest days are.

A co-worker emailed me today that after she read one of my first two blogs, she felt better resting.  One of her runs last week wasn’t good, so she took two days off and when she ran again, she had a great run.  She listened to her body, took the rest, and it paid off…I’m so proud of her!  (Great job Melissa!)

I’ll never say that I know it all or that I’m perfect.  I just know what I’ve been through and what I’ve learned from my own mistakes.  Someone (a runner who has completed several marathons, Ironmans, etc) told me that you don’t really find out about yourself as a runner until you’ve been consistently running for at least six years.  I started running, SLOWLY, in 1999, and now, in 2011 I would agree with him.  I’ve come a long way and I’m still learning about myself as a runner.  I think the things that help me learn about myself is that I’m not afraid anymore to try and I’m willing to look at my training logs, workouts, and runs and find things that I could do better.   One of my biggest lessons that I learned the hard way….never underestimate the rest days.

One response to “Augh…Monday

  1. Sara says:

    What a great post – I totally agree. I’ve hurt myself 3 times running, 2 of which were due to over-doing it. I still find rest days a challenge, and admit that mine aren’t part of a plan but because I’m just too busy to get in a workout or up too late the night before to get up at 5:00am. You are setting a great example, and plan to live vicariously through you re: your marathon journey. It’s too much for my feet, but that limitation has caused me to find other physical outlets I enjoy as much as running. There’s always something to do! Keep up the great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

