runnergal22

Just another WordPress.com site

16……….

on April 3, 2011

My alarm went off at 2:45am and I actually said outloud, “This is insane.”  I considered going back to bed and putting off the 16 miler, which I knew would take me roughly 3.5 hours, until later, but therein lies my dilema with marathon training.  I do not want to take that much time in my day away from family time….ESPCIALLY on a weekend.  And since there is no turning back on this marathon event, I cannot skip the run.  So the only solution for me is to get up that early and get it done.

I forced myself out of bed at the crazy hour and got going.  It started off great, but about halfway through, my right foot started hurting very badly.  In fact, I didn’t think I could run anymore and I was taken over with anxiety.  Is this an overuse injury? (Been there, done that)  What if I can’t run?  Do I stop?  Do I keep going and risk it getting worse?  My mind was playing out all sorts of scenarios.  I made myself re-focus, slow down, stretched, took some walk breaks, and soon enough, whatever it was felt better and I finished the 16 strong, but tired.

I’m finding during all this training that it’s very easy to register for events/races.  It’s very easy to sit on the computer and think about what your “going to/want to do”, but it’s another thing to actually do it.  Right now, the “doing it” that is so tough is the time component on the long weekend runs, mentally focusing and concentrating on all the things that I should be doing on the run for several hours, and both of those things sort of take the joy out of running.  The joy of running is not totally gone, but there are times that I am completely dreading what I’m doing and what I comimtted to.  The sentence, “I want to run a full marathon” is simply that, a sentence…it’s just words and they are very easy to say.  I did not plan at all on thinking about this so much.  I knew that I would have to train hard and that I would have long runs on the weekends, but before I actually had to plug in those miles and the time it takes to get those done into my life and the lives of my husband and son, it isn’t real…again…it’s just words.  There is so much more to this “I want to run a full marathon” than meets the eye.  

So I leave this weekend’s blogs, my first blogs, with the good feeling that I accomplished my training goals this week, but looking ahead to 18 next weekend and all that those 18 miles comes with….time, pain, but also the feeling of accomplishment, a clear head, centered self, and to top it all off, an ice bath and chocolate milk!

4 responses to “16……….

  1. Deb Day says:

    You’re crazy woman! But good for you for getting up and getting going!

  2. Linda Dwyer says:

    this is fun to follow Jess! And way to rock:) My 17 yr old son finished his second half marathon yesterday in 1 hr 29 min….it was called Rock the Parkway…he rocked it alright! I stayed on the 10 k course, but am shooting to do another half maybe in June with him before he leaves for the merchant marine academy. Which marathon are you training for?

    I LOVE running! And protect my ability to continue to do that with everything!!
    Hebrews 12:1
    Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.

    • runnergal22 says:

      Hi Linda! Wow…congrats to your son! What an awesome finish time! I think it would be great to do the half with him! That would be a wonderful memory for you both. I am training for the Minneapolis Marathon on June 5th. How are your parents? I stopped by their house in early March, but they weren’t home. I think of them often!

      • Linda Dwyer says:

        I’m technically challenged and just saw this:) They were in Palm Springs, but they’re home now! Well, I will run the half June 4th and be praying for you as I rest on the 5th:)Not sure God has a full marathon in His plans for me…but celebrated my 48th bday running 9 miles and I couldn’t run around the block on my 18th….so I guess that’s progress:)

Leave a Reply

